The Importance of Connections and Networking… (kinda)

I know, I know. It’s been about a billion years since I last updated. Book 2 is a menace on my free time. I am writer-ly-constipated. /sigh

Anyhoo! An interesting thing happened the other day – I had jury duty for the first time. Uh, ever. Not that most thrilling of adventures, but it’s not the actual duty that was interesting (although it was mildly amusing). In all of the places of the world, on all of the days of the year, in all of the panels of jurors ever, I found another writer.

Freaky right! We’re just like, crawling out of the woodwork here. (Maybe not -that- unbelievable, but I was pleasantly surprised to find someone to ‘talk shop with’, as he put it.)

My allotted lunch hour turned into “hey, let’s talk about books and writing and cover art and stuff.” I felt all fuzzy and professional. There was even an exchange of business cards. (Which reminded me how crappy mine are. I still have 127 to give out. Dammit.) All in all it was just really neat to talk to someone who knew what I meant when I said ‘kdp’ and ‘amazon’s algorithms are totally random and shitty’.

It got me thinking – if I could find one cool dude randomly in the middle of jury duty, and learn a bunch of things from him in one afternoon, what kind of enlightenment might I find if I went to a CONVENTION of equally minded, nerdy writer types? Think of the collection of business cards alone!

My main point is this – talk to people! You never know what you’ll find out. It might even lead to an hour long discussions about the ins and outs of erotica pen names. (No pun intended… sort of.)

 

 

How it feels when you meet somebody new who gets the ‘writer’ thing.

 

Posted on June 26, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I would love to go to a writers conference. I’m glad you met a writerly dude in the midst of jury duty. Awesome!

  2. We are a tight community. We should get together more often. How’s the next book coming?

Leave a Reply

BOOK GRAPHICS

A busy author's best friend

IndieMobi

E-book Formatting Services for Authors

My Journey in Writing my First Novel

Follow me in my endeavors to write my first novel. One word at a time......

lindseyjparsons

Author, Dragon Lover, Hopeless Dreamer

animalsandmagic

a blog by author Jennifer Priester

Fantasia Frog Designs

Fantastic imagery as far as your imagination can take you.

CARMEL MOUNTAIN RANCH COUNTRY CLUB

Because now that you have the perfect diamond, you'll need the perfect setting...

Writers with Vision

Author promotion blogsite

Sophie E Tallis

Writing, fantasy, epic storytelling, life, creativity and everything in between!

Maura McKeely

Erotic Romance Author

Amaranthine by Joleene Naylor

The world of the Amaranthine vampire series by Joleene Naylor

A Self-Published Author working to Help Other Self-Published Authors

KATE JACK'S BLOG

Reading, writing, new authors

Write,Juggle,Run

Living life through words and balls.

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

Costa Rica Travel Blog .com

Costa Rica Travel Blog is the current traveller, will-be traveller, has-been traveller, and should-be traveller's guide to everything costa rica. Information, stories, news, advice - written by the Pura Vida! eh? Incorporated team - costa rican insiders, outsiders, and everywhere-in-between-siders.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

