Afraid of readers.

So, this is a combo vlog/video response to Shelina from WriterInspired. The original video is here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fx07mVbqpS8
and her wordpress is here: http://awriterinspired.wordpress.com/page/2/

 

Transcript-y thingy:

Hi, my name is Victoria and this is a combination video response and vlog #2.

 

I found a blog today that had a vlog on it that really hit home with me, and I wanted to make a video response to Shelina, who is the author of the WriterInspired blog and the vlog I’m responding to.

 

I just wanted to say that you are not alone in this. All writer’s are afraid. Like… seriously. Especially for me, like, I’m terrified when I put anything out. Even on the blog, especially with the stuff I’m actually writing, but with the blog too.

 

I think that all writers, experienced and new writers, (especially new writers) are afraid of their readers. Like… any readers.

 

You said that the artist’ side of us is sensitive, and thats true. Like, pretty much nail on the head. We’re fragile when we show someone our work. We’ve cultured this thing and we’ve given it a life, and we’ve like, given birth to this story and these writings, and this whole world, and we show it to someone its absolutely terrifying. We’ve put all of this work into it, and to get a bad review, or a negative word about it is almost physically painful.
When I’m sharing something on the blog, or I’m sharing a piece of something that I’ve written, I’m… and I think this goes for all writers, you’re sharing a portion of yourself with people you dont know. Even when you’re sharing it with friends, its scary, because sometimes they’re honest, and… honesty sometimes hurts. Not gonna lie.

 

Sometimes I feel like I just wanna keep it all to myself, and never show anybody ever, and everybody can go away, and I can just write for myself. But, if I did that I wouldnt get anywhere.

 

I also think that honest feedback while sometimes… painful… is necessary for growth, and its part of a growing pain, and if I had to give you any advice.. Well, its not really advice, but…. we all feel like that. And we all experience the fear of putting our stuff out to be read,

 

And I dont know exactly how I’m dealing with it, because I just started, but I’m just trying to truck through it and take any criticism I get as something useful rather than “oh my god, they’re beating up on my brain child.”

 

So.. yeah. We’re all with you, we’re all afraid, you’re not the only one. Um… but yeah, just wanted to let you know. You’re not alone, we’re all afraid, we all have… this fear.

Posted on December 7, 2012, in Vlogs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on A Writer Inspired and commented:
    Here is my very first video response! It goes with a video I posted called The Fear.

  2. When you started to sign, I got a little teary, not going to lie. Thank you so much for the response, its nice to know people have your back and get it!

    • Aw, hope my singing wasn’t too horrible. Im taking ASL as my major, but I just started, so it may have been a little rough.

      Besides that, no problem! It was my first ever time making a video response to someone, but it was a subject that I wanted to talk about, so its all good. :)

      Thanks for reblogging it! <3

  3. No, your signing was fine. You need anything you come to me. I’m an interpreter and I still have a few resources up my sleeve :)

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

BOOK GRAPHICS

A busy author's best friend

IndieMobi

E-book Formatting Services for Authors

My Journey in Writing my First Novel

Follow me in my endeavors to write my first novel. One word at a time......

lindseyjparsons

Author, Dragon Lover, Hopeless Dreamer

animalsandmagic

a blog by author Jennifer Priester

Fantasia Frog Designs

Fantastic imagery as far as your imagination can take you.

CARMEL MOUNTAIN RANCH COUNTRY CLUB

You have the perfect diamond. We have the perfect setting.

Writers with Vision

Author promotion blogsite

Sophie E Tallis - Author/Illustrator

Home of the Mistress of Wolves: writing, publishing, fantasy, epic storytelling, art, life, creativity and everything in between!

Maura McKeely

Erotic Romance Author

Amaranthine by Joleene Naylor

The world of the Amaranthine vampire series by Joleene Naylor

roxannecrousewriter.wordpress.com/

A Self-Published Author working to Help Other Self-Published Authors

KATE JACK'S BLOG

Reading, writing, new authors

Juggling Writer

Living life through words and balls.

Brendan Dunne

Inspirational & Motivational

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

