Guilt, quotas, and falling in love with your character.

So, I have a confession to make: I don’t often make my word count quotas. Well, sometimes. I feel bad about that. I don’t know if it’s lazyness (it’s probably lazyness) or if I’m too easily distracted. It may be a bit of both, but the fact that I’m still going is encouraging right?

I feel like maybe I’m just freaking out too much. I started this thing with the idea in my head that I would spend every waking out not in school or at my job writing. So far, thats fairly accurate. I get up at the buttcrack of dawn, and am on the laptop until bedtime in most cases. Now, how much writing gets done, I don’t know.

Perhaps I’m simply making too much out of it; maybe numbers isn’t the thing. Perhaps writing is more fluid and less rational than that – maybe it just needs to come out, and wherever you get to is wherever you get to that day. I’m steadily making progress though.

It’s kind of scary.

Whats also kind of scary, is that I’m starting to get the first tiny whispers of feedback on the very first chapters. The book is in its infancy, but it seems to be able to stand on its own so far. I’ve had some very helpful criticism about the content, and its been remarkably helpful, even in these early stages.

I always feel I’m getting ahead of my with this thing. I’ll gaze longingly at bookcovers, or read up about paperback publishing options, and stuff. CALM DOWN TORI. BREATHE. (Or as Maegan would say, “CALM YO TITS”. It’s hilarious when she says it, I promise.)

I just have to keep telling myself, “Just write. Thats all you need to do. Just write. Trust Lucy to tell your story. Just write. Just write.”

Is it creepy that I talk about Lucy like she’s real? Does that happen for alot of writers? The more I write her, the more I feel I know her, and the more I feel I know her, the more I tend to refer to her in a third-ish person kind of sense. I like her. I like her world. I like Irwin, and I like Mishal. I dunno. Maybe thats weird.

As a semi-related note, I’m super excited to have a writing buddy. I think it helps alot. I like being able to bounce ideas off of her. I also like reading her book, and I wish there was more of it. I want her to finish it! I believe she can. I’m all wiggly with the prospects. e_e

Also, I have to go to work today. So, that sucks. I’d rather be writing.

Posted on December 7, 2012, in Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Don’t worry, you aren’t alone. Many writers (myself included) grow attached to at least one of their characters. Maybe it is weird to do it, but I don’t care if it is. I would rather be attached to my characters and use that attachment to strengthen their characters even more, as opposed to just writing a bunch of emotionless drones that I feel nothing for.

    • I don’t think it’s weird to grow attached to a character. You’re shaping them and thier world, and I always thought it was kind of like having a kid. You make them, you nurture them, and they grow and stuff.

      I don’t think I could write if all the characters were emotionless drones. :x

  2. I fell like a lot of my character are real, I don’t know why but they have to seem real for people to want to read about them so I guess it’s a win if they do feel real to you :)

  3. I’m glad I’m not alone in the ‘feeling-your-character’ thing. xD And yeah, that’s true, realness is important.

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

BOOK GRAPHICS

A busy author's best friend

IndieMobi

E-book Formatting Services for Authors

My Journey in Writing my First Novel

Follow me in my endeavors to write my first novel. One word at a time......

lindseyjparsons

Author, Dragon Lover, Hopeless Dreamer

animalsandmagic

a blog by author Jennifer Priester

Fantasia Frog Designs

Fantastic imagery as far as your imagination can take you.

CARMEL MOUNTAIN RANCH COUNTRY CLUB

You have the perfect diamond. We have the perfect setting.

Writers with Vision

Author promotion blogsite

Sophie E Tallis - Author/Illustrator

Home of the Mistress of Wolves: writing, publishing, fantasy, epic storytelling, art, life, creativity and everything in between!

Maura McKeely

Erotic Romance Author

Amaranthine by Joleene Naylor

The world of the Amaranthine vampire series by Joleene Naylor

roxannecrousewriter.wordpress.com/

A Self-Published Author working to Help Other Self-Published Authors

KATE JACK'S BLOG

Reading, writing, new authors

Juggling Writer

Living life through words and balls.

Brendan Dunne

Inspirational & Motivational

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

Costa Rica Travel Blog .com

Costa Rica Travel Blog is the current traveller, will-be traveller, has-been traveller, and should-be traveller's guide to everything costa rica. Information, stories, news, advice - written by the Pura Vida! eh? Incorporated team - costa rican insiders, outsiders, and everywhere-in-between-siders.

