Quitting – That thing you should never do.

A letter to my writing buddy:

So, something scary happened last night, but I’m glad it didn’t. My writing buddy and best friend Maegan almost threw in the towel with her book. She was having trouble with a chapter, and it was one of those important chapters that sets up stuff for later in the book. She couldn’t get it right, no matter how hard she tried. The feedback she’s been getting had discouraged her, and she had pretty much made the decision to give up, because her ‘writing was crap’. If she couldn’t fix the chapter, the rest of the book wouldn’t work.

I told her it was growing pains – it’s your first book, and the first draft will never be perfect. Thats what second drafts are for, and third. That’s what beta readers and editors are for. Thats what notes to yourself in your chapter files is for. I’m pretty sure every author ever has had a point in the beginning of their writer’s career that discouraged them to the point of quitting. But the difference between successful writers and non successful writers is the fact that the successful ones kept writing. You have to keep writing, no matter what! Everything is ‘fixable’.

Maegan! Never give up! Never surrender! Harper needs you! Your writing doesn’t suck! Stop doubting yourself and just do it!

Constructive criticism is a delicate subject. It hurts when someone tells you something you’ve written doesn’t quite work. But they’re not telling you that because the whole thing sucks – they’re helping you polish up this already cool, shiny thing. It’s not personal, and it’s not an attack on skill. It’s better to catch these things early and fix them. And you did! You fixed chapter 4, and it was fucking awesomesauce. Let it be a lesson to you! Never give up! Never surrender! YOU CAN DO EEEEET.

I knew she could do it. The moment I knew she could do it was when I asked her “Do you want to write a book?” and she said “yes”. That’s all you need. Really. Just the want to do it. SO DO IT.

I had the same kind of issue with my chapter 7. It was a life sucking black whole of shittyness. But in writing said shittyness, I figured out what parts of it were wrong, and wrote myself a note about. That way, when I get done and go back for edits and second draft, I’ll know exactly what I need to write. I’ve been there, my dear friend, and I feel you.

Just keep chugging away; you’ll get there.

Love you Maegan,

-T

Settle down, it’ll all be clear
Don’t pay no mind to the demons
They fill you with fear
The trouble it might drag you down
If you get lost, you can always be found

Just know you’re not alone

Posted on December 17, 2012, in Journal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. It is very easy to want to quit when something isn’t quite working. Especially when you are pretty new at writing. Life gets in the way, something crops up. A character you loved, you now suddenly hate or has done something you can’t quite work out. But, I do agree. Never give up. If the chapter isn’t working for what ever reason. Abandon just that point and pick up later in the story. What every you do, you have to keep writing. So missing a bit won’t hurt. After you’ve continued on with some other part that excites your senses. It is easier to fill in that gap. It comes with practice I’m afraid, and many a set of writers ‘dare I say it’…. block. (I don’t really believe in it to be fair)

    Hopefully your friend will be good to carry on, but if not. There are people out there who are in very similar positions. She really isn’t alone.

    • I’m learning this to be true the more I write. Sometimes I think it’s all garbage and I shouldn’t do it, and other times I’m excited for it. I think it’s a normal writer thing.

      And I think she’ll be okay. :)

      • She will be okay with a good friend like you… Yes, I do think as writers we all go through that. Then someone makes a small comment and you believe in yourself all over again. Its awesome. :)

  2. Thank you Tori, I appreciate the encouragement. It was just not a good night. But here we are, a new day, a bright sun and Chapter 4 is getting it’s ass kicked

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

BOOK GRAPHICS

A busy author's best friend

IndieMobi

E-book Formatting Services for Authors

My Journey in Writing my First Novel

Follow me in my endeavors to write my first novel. One word at a time......

lindseyjparsons

Author, Dragon Lover, Hopeless Dreamer

animalsandmagic

a blog by author Jennifer Priester

Fantasia Frog Designs

Fantastic imagery as far as your imagination can take you.

CARMEL MOUNTAIN RANCH COUNTRY CLUB

You have the perfect diamond. We have the perfect setting.

Writers with Vision

Author promotion blogsite

Sophie E Tallis - Author/Illustrator

Home of the Mistress of Wolves: writing, publishing, fantasy, epic storytelling, art, life, creativity and everything in between!

Maura McKeely

Erotic Romance Author

Amaranthine by Joleene Naylor

The world of the Amaranthine vampire series by Joleene Naylor

roxannecrousewriter.wordpress.com/

A Self-Published Author working to Help Other Self-Published Authors

KATE JACK'S BLOG

Reading, writing, new authors

Juggling Writer

Living life through words and balls.

Brendan Dunne

Inspirational & Motivational

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

Costa Rica Travel Blog .com

Costa Rica Travel Blog is the current traveller, will-be traveller, has-been traveller, and should-be traveller's guide to everything costa rica. Information, stories, news, advice - written by the Pura Vida! eh? Incorporated team - costa rican insiders, outsiders, and everywhere-in-between-siders.

