Writing and the Holidays

“Mom invited us to dinner later. Oh! And she wants to know if we want to go look at Christmas lights after. Also, we’re supposed to be at Dad’s place tomorrow at three. We should probably finish wrapping presents at some point too. You still need to bake those cookies, right? I wonder if we can get some last minute shopping done before the stores close… I wonder what kind of presents you’re supposed to get a cat. Hmmm….”

_____

Yeah. Holidays are busy, and being busy with holidays means you’re probably NOT busy writing. Which is a bummer.

On the other hand, family and food is good too, and hey! You might get something writing related for Christmas. It’s good to take a break every now and then, and you can always squeeze in a few words here and there. For a lot of writers, myself included, getting out a measly 400 words during the holiday days is an accomplishment.

Luckily, I have a few spare hours here and there, which is a lot more than some. As I sit here writing this, my hair is wrapped in a towel from my shower, and as soon as I’m finished writing this, I’m going to work on busting out a chapter before family dinner stuff tonight. I think I can do it. If I don’t, no pressure – there’ll be time.

To step away from the writer talk, what are ya’ll doing for the holidays? I’ve got two separate Christmases lined up. (Whats the plural of Christmas? Is that even a thing?) Is there anything you’re hoping to get? Someone you want to see?

I’ve been very badly wanting a Kindle Fire lately, but thats expensive, so I’m going to have to save up for that one. But then I’ll get it a nice pretty cover, and I can share it with Kev, so he doesn’t have to lug around a big heavy book every time he wants to read. Other than that, I’ll just be happy to hang out with people and eat stuff. Plus, getting to see people open presents you’ve gotten them is fun. :D

Kind of looking forward to Bailey’s too. Mmmm, delicious alcoholic creaminess…. Aah.

So, that’s my ramble for today. May be a bit absent for a while, but I’ll be back!

Happy Holidays!

Posted on December 24, 2012, in Journal. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I went out full tilt for November with Nanowrimo, then the edit and publication of Dark of Night. So I decided not to even try to write anything during the holidays. The past couple of weeks were all about reading other people’s books. It was a much needed break for me, and on the up side, I found a few Indie authors I really like. So it was a good holiday, lots of reading and lots of goodies, though I forgot to get some Bailey’s. :( Oh well, New Year’s is coming. Hope you get your Kindle soon. I only have a regular one, but I love it. :)

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

BOOK GRAPHICS

A busy author's best friend

IndieMobi

E-book Formatting Services for Authors

My Journey in Writing my First Novel

Follow me in my endeavors to write my first novel. One word at a time......

lindseyjparsons

Author, Dragon Lover, Hopeless Dreamer

animalsandmagic

a blog by author Jennifer Priester

Fantasia Frog Designs

Fantastic imagery as far as your imagination can take you.

CARMEL MOUNTAIN RANCH COUNTRY CLUB

You have the perfect diamond. We have the perfect setting.

Writers with Vision

Author promotion blogsite

Sophie E Tallis - Author/Illustrator

Home of the Mistress of Wolves: writing, publishing, fantasy, epic storytelling, art, life, creativity and everything in between!

Maura McKeely

Erotic Romance Author

Amaranthine by Joleene Naylor

The world of the Amaranthine vampire series by Joleene Naylor

roxannecrousewriter.wordpress.com/

A Self-Published Author working to Help Other Self-Published Authors

KATE JACK'S BLOG

Reading, writing, new authors

Juggling Writer

Living life through words and balls.

Brendan Dunne

Inspirational & Motivational

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

Costa Rica Travel Blog .com

Costa Rica Travel Blog is the current traveller, will-be traveller, has-been traveller, and should-be traveller's guide to everything costa rica. Information, stories, news, advice - written by the Pura Vida! eh? Incorporated team - costa rican insiders, outsiders, and everywhere-in-between-siders.

