Happy New (Writing) Year!

Well, 2012 is almost over, and we’re all alive and un-apocalypsed, so woot!

I know a lot of people do the whole ‘new years resolution’ thing, but I’ve got several. It’s really more of a to-do list than anything, but still. New year, new goals, maybe even a new life!

I’ve said it in various places, but I’ll reiterate just for the sake of mashing it into my brain. (I have this notion if I repeat it to myself a million times, it’ll happen… something about psychology, but yeah.)

I want to write for a living. I want to be a ‘stay-at-home’ writer. I want my stuff to support me, so I can write full time. Mostly, I just want to share my stories with people who might like them. I want people to know my characters as intimately as I do, and I’ve always longed for that moment when someone I don’t know gushes about something I’ve written. That’ll be a cool moment.

So! My goal this year is to, at the absolute minimum, get book #1 of the Redhaven series out. I have about 80 berjillion ideas for other books, but I’m going to focus on this one first. It appears, from very early planning, that the Redhaven series will be around 7 to 8 books. Maybe 9 including the finale. I dunno. Somewhere there abouts.

Now, getting one book out a year is uncomfortable for me. Ideally, I’d like somewhere in the neighborhood of 5-6. (Which, if I sat here every waking spare moment, I could probably get the whole series out in a year, but then my fiance would be a stranger and my kitty-children wouldnt know me anymore, lol.) So, baring total soul-consumption-paced writing, I’m shooting for 4. 3 months a book seems… just about right. That way, the whole series can be done in around 2 years, and hopefully by THEN I’ll have enough of a people-base to do some other projects.

For the moment I’m staying focused on #1 though. Baby steps, Tori, baby steps.

The second thing on my list is to start an excercise/diet routine, but I make that one every year, and it only kinda works. Maybe I’m content with my fluff. This is going to be a year of kicking myself in the butt and making myself do stuff, so hopefully my determination to write will bleed over into my determination of un-fluff myself.

 

We’ll see! Happy New Year!

 

(I am going to get so drunk tonight. I love you guys.)

Posted on December 31, 2012, in Book Updates, Journal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I think to actually earn a living you defo have to push yourself. Writing a novel at 80k in 47 days was tough, but I was in a full time job too, so I would like to think that I could write 80k in a month easily if I wasn’t working. Then it still would take 2mths tops for editing and another month for rewrites, so a realistic aim for me would be 3 novels a year. I guess you can only work that out after you have the first one done.

    I’m in editing now, hope it won’t take too much longer. As I want to start nailing out the second book :) All the best for the new year my ‘new’ blogging friend. Would be great to see a novel in print this year for us both. :)

    • I’m lucky to be in a position where I can write at least 6-12 hours a day, but it’s actually getting comfortable and writing that long that I’m struggling with. I really -want- to write, but the internet is distracting… I think it’s mostly an issue of self-discipline, which is what I’m going to work very hard on this year. So, if I really super crazy push it, I might get my book out in the next two months or so. We’ll see. I like to be optimistic, though.

      And omigosh, grats! How are you going about your editing process, if you don’t mind me asking? Do you have a trusted group of beta readers, or are you kind of forging ahead on your own? Are you working with a professional copyeditor person?

      And yes, it’d be awesome to be able to link our ‘buy-here’ links. :D I will totally buy your stuff, lol. <3

  2. Good luck to you, Victoria. It’s a lot of work but so worth it when you get to write THE END.

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

BOOK GRAPHICS

A busy author's best friend

IndieMobi

E-book Formatting Services for Authors

My Journey in Writing my First Novel

Follow me in my endeavors to write my first novel. One word at a time......

lindseyjparsons

Author, Dragon Lover, Hopeless Dreamer

animalsandmagic

a blog by author Jennifer Priester

Fantasia Frog Designs

Fantastic imagery as far as your imagination can take you.

CARMEL MOUNTAIN RANCH COUNTRY CLUB

You have the perfect diamond. We have the perfect setting.

Writers with Vision

Author promotion blogsite

Sophie E Tallis - Author/Illustrator

Home of the Mistress of Wolves: writing, publishing, fantasy, epic storytelling, art, life, creativity and everything in between!

Maura McKeely

Erotic Romance Author

Amaranthine by Joleene Naylor

The world of the Amaranthine vampire series by Joleene Naylor

roxannecrousewriter.wordpress.com/

A Self-Published Author working to Help Other Self-Published Authors

KATE JACK'S BLOG

Reading, writing, new authors

Juggling Writer

Living life through words and balls.

Brendan Dunne

Inspirational & Motivational

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

