Book #2 is Hard: The Challenges of a Sequel (Now with gifs!)

So, you’ve written a book. Sweet! Publish that bitch, and feel awesome. You’ve done the hard work, made some characters, put them through some shit, and squished it all together in a readable, cohesive format. Smell your pages, look at your shiny kindle/nook file, and relax. Job well done.

Aaah… Let’s take a minute.

/iced-tea.

….Mmm, the taste of victory.

Wait a minute… oh crap, that’s a series.  So, I have to write another one?

OH CRAP. I HAVE TO WRITE ANOTHER ONE!

 

So, that’s a thing. Sequels, I mean. When you write a series.

I kind of forgot about that. Siren Snow got done, and I was just happy to get it out. I thought I’d just plot out my next book, and write it, and chug along, and it’d all be hunky dory.

Sounds easy, right? Of course! Pfft, all you need to do is plot some stuff, work out the threads from the last book, and then write it. Duh.

…Right.

 

 

Seriously though, this sequel is a bitch. It was easy the first time. I could introduce stuff as I went, and it was a new world and I was starting from scratch. Everything was new and shiny, and we were all just along for the ride, experiencing it all for the first time. We were getting to know characters, exploring a new literary universe, and we found out things as we went.

As I’m finding with book #2… Not so much. I have to catch people up without barraging them with info dumps. I have sew the threads of new ideas, while making sure I don’t forget anything important from the last book that’ll crop up in this one. Oh, and new characters. I have to weave new characters in.

And make sure my heroin isn’t a totally different person.
And that stuff is believable within the time frame.
And no one’s forgotten.
And everything that was left open in the last book is at least addressed in this one.
And time skips… I have to address a time skip and have it not just be a black hole of info blob I give later.

Holy fucking hell in a handbasket how do I do this.

So yeah, suffice to say, writing a sequel is NOTHING like writing the first book in a series. I feel like there’s an obvious answer to all this, some simple scientific way to approach it that’ll make it flow easier in my brain.

Let me be honest for a moment: I’ve been floundering and struggling with this damn book for like, a fucking month now. I, for the life of me, cannot find some way to make the beginning of this book work. Like, seriously. I think I may have shot myself in the foot with the end of the first book. Honestly, I think it’s mostly that I’ve got an entirely new character to ease in. In my head, I already know his story, and how he’s going to end up in the long run, but it’s like trying to fit in an extra pea in a pod. …Or something.

I just wanna run away.

 

But I think I’ve found a solution!

Wait… What? There’s hope?

 

Turns out, I just had to wait. No really, that’s it. I had a writing epiphany half asleep one morning, and I realized I was rushing it. I was wanting so much just to pick up with this damn book and have it come out as easy (more or less) as the first one. But you can’t really do that with a sequel. It’s an entirely new animal. There’s an entire universe to consider before you even write down ‘chapter 1’. I had to let it sit. I figured out that… Well, it’s a long story, but I figured it out. Finally.

There is no magic way to make writing work, or come out of your brain smoothly.

Moral of this very strange, gif filled post: If you’re struggling with something, especially writing, and it just wont come to you, wait for inspiration. Don’t force it. Writing is an art, not a science.

Who knew?

 

 

((Also… damn you Maegan for getting me hooked on gifs. :p ))

Posted on April 2, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. I hear you! I am writing my second one now. I enjoyed your Blog today!

  2. What an excellent, entertaining post! And you’re absolutely correct!

  3. Reblogged this on Maegan Provan, Author and commented:
    I share the sentiment

  4. I feel your pain. i am staring at the blank page of book #6 in the series. Why can;t we just put a “Last time in the Amaranthine world…” page, list what happened, and then start chapter one? Like tv shows do? I think that would make life easier ;)

    • You probably could do that as a preface / prologue or something. I swore I’ve seen that in someone’s book somewhere.

      As a reader, I would probably appreciate the recap, but as a writer it may be cheating or something, lol.

      Would be nice if we could have a nifty narrator dude like on t.v., though.

  5. Let’s see. Put out Thunder and Blood in 2009 with the promise of the sequel in 2010. There’s not a week that goes by when I don’t get asked about it. Will finally be out October this year. Go figure!

    Thank you for putting into words what I could only put my face in my hands and cry about. Love the gifs!

  6. OMG, this is SO true! I’m ashamed to say I’ve been struggling with my sequel since last June. :( But it’s nice to see that I’m not alone!

  7. Wait till book three! Just kidding…. No, I’m not. The more books you write, the harder it gets. By book four, you’re going back to to book one to double check a character birthday. It’s challenging. And, totally worth it! I know you’ll get there, Tori. You have a wonderful literary world that I can’t wait to revisit.

  1. Pingback: Book #2 is Hard: The Challenges of a Sequel (Now with gifs!) | Wyndy Dee

  2. Pingback: Chapter 1 of the sequel | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

BOOK GRAPHICS

A busy author's best friend

IndieMobi

E-book Formatting Services for Authors

My Journey in Writing my First Novel

Follow me in my endeavors to write my first novel. One word at a time......

lindseyjparsons

Author, Dragon Lover, Hopeless Dreamer

animalsandmagic

a blog by author Jennifer Priester

Fantasia Frog Designs

Fantastic imagery as far as your imagination can take you.

CARMEL MOUNTAIN RANCH COUNTRY CLUB

You have the perfect diamond. We have the perfect setting.

Writers with Vision

Author promotion blogsite

Sophie E Tallis - Author/Illustrator

Home of the Mistress of Wolves: writing, publishing, fantasy, epic storytelling, art, life, creativity and everything in between!

Maura McKeely

Erotic Romance Author

Amaranthine by Joleene Naylor

The world of the Amaranthine vampire series by Joleene Naylor

roxannecrousewriter.wordpress.com/

A Self-Published Author working to Help Other Self-Published Authors

KATE JACK'S BLOG

Reading, writing, new authors

Juggling Writer

Living life through words and balls.

Brendan Dunne

Inspirational & Motivational

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

Costa Rica Travel Blog .com

Costa Rica Travel Blog is the current traveller, will-be traveller, has-been traveller, and should-be traveller's guide to everything costa rica. Information, stories, news, advice - written by the Pura Vida! eh? Incorporated team - costa rican insiders, outsiders, and everywhere-in-between-siders.

